Keeping Your Business in Mind

CS Machogu List Schools in the Country to Remain Closed due to Floods

Education Cabinet Secretary Ezekiel Machogu has announced that schools in certain areas will remain closed due to the severe impact of flooding in those counties.

Approximately 95% of schools in the country being cleared for reporting of students on Monday, the government is still evaluating the remaining schools.

Specifically, schools in Tana River, Homa Bay, and Kisumu counties will remain closed, with plans to reopen on Monday postponed.

The government is actively exploring alternative learning methods for students in these regions due to the extensive flooding.

Machogu indicated that the reopening dates for these areas will be extended by an additional two to three weeks to allow for a reassessment of the situation, as many schools are still submerged in floodwaters.

Speaking during the inspection of various Secondary School in Nairobi to assess the situation ahead of school opening, Machogu noted that second term will be extended.

“Due to the extent of destruction by floods and the delay in opening of schools, the ministry will ensure that the second term will be extended by two weeks to ensure that the syllabus is well covered,” Machogu said.

Read also:-

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.