Keeping Your Business in Mind

Nairobi assembly leadership Change upheld by UDA dispute committee

By Antynet Ford

The United Democratic Alliance (UDA) Party’s Internal Dispute Resolutions Mechanism committee  (IDRM)has upheld the ouster of current office holders at the Nairobi County Assembly, leading to anticipated leadership changes.

The ruling delivered in Friday, which came after a protracted dispute, saw the committee dismissing a complaint filed by the minority leader Anthony Karanja Kiragu and minority chief whip Mark Mugambi, who are elected members of the Nairobi City County Assembly representing Waithaka Ward and Umoja 1 wards, respectively.

The two MCAs had  challenged their removal from leadership positions within the UDA Party, alleging procedural irregularities and unfair treatment.

However, according to the committee the removal process was conducted in accordance with party regulations and standing orders.

“The removal of the complainants from their respective leadership positions of the County Assembly of Nairobi was procedural.”The committee chairperson, Rebecca Tonkei ruled.

She affirmed the appointment of Waithera Chege (South B), Deonysias Mwangi (Githurai MCA), Joyce Muthoni ( Nominated MCA), and Samora Mwaura ( Clay MCA) to leadership positions within the assembly, citing compliance with standing orders.

The Friday ruling is expected to trigger significant changes in leadership dynamics within the Nairobi County Assembly, with the newly appointed individuals assuming key roles.

However, Kiragu and Mugambi have the option to appeal to the National Executive Committee (NEC) of the UDA Party, as per the party’s constitution.

In October last year, the Nairobi UDA MCAs split into two camps wrestling for key leadership slots at the assembly.


The  party had announced leadership changes where Waithera Chege was named the minority leader and was to be deputised by Deonysias Mwangi (Githurai MCA).

Umoja One MCA Mark Mugambi was to be replaced by nominated MCA Joyce Muthoni as Minority whip.

Muthoni was to be deputised by Clay MCA Samora Mwaura as her deputy.

The changes were said to be made after 35 MCAs allegedly appended their signatures to change the leaders.

UDA Secretary General Cleopahs Malala however, made a U-turn saying he had received complaints that some of the signatures were forged hence calling for the crisis meeting.

The  Political Parties Dispute Tribunal (PPDT) then barred UDA from making leadership changes at the Nairobi county assembly.

Read also:-

PPDT chairperson Desma Nungo gave the orders barring UDA from making any changes until a hearing and determination are done.

Early this year, the  Political Parties Tribunal urged the UDA MCAs to utilize their Internal Dispute Resolutions Mechanism (IDRM)  and settle their leadership disputes

The tribunal, dismissing an application from Waithaka and Umoja One MCAs sided with the UDA party’s argument that the two had not exhausted the party’s internal dispute resolution mechanism before bringing the complaint.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.