Keeping Your Business in Mind

Nine MCAs in Uasin Gishu County lose jobs over irregular gazettement

By Antynet Ford

The court of appeal has revoked the nomination of nine UDA members of the County Assembly for Uasin Gishu and ordered the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) to degazette their names within fourteen days.

This is an upholding of the previous ruling by the High Court. The nine MCAs include James Wachira, Belinda Chebichi, David Waiganjo, Rhoda Cheruiyot, Nancy Kiboi Hassan Chepkoech, Sarah Abdi, Magrine Chebet, and Juliet Chelimo.

Those whose names the court has directed the polls agency to gazette under the gender top-up list are Caroline Jeptanui, Cherono Caroline, Tirop Everline, Serem Naomi, Ng’etich Pamela, Sharon Jewel Kogo, Burgei, Veronica, Mutai Celestine and Rebecca Jerop.

Four MCAs are also to be gazetted under a special category by IEBC. They include Kiplagat Gerald, Wambui Tabitha, Kering Robert, and Regina Chemba.

The ruling stated that six of the nine MCAs had been irregularly shortlisted in the gender top-up list and three in the special category.

The appellate court directed that upon gazettement of the given list of MCAs, the Uasin Gishu County Assembly to swear in the gazette names in its immediate sitting.

The court also advised that should the IEBC fail to gazette the names of the genuine list of nominated MCAs within 14 days, the speaker of the County Assembly should then declare the positions of the nominated MCAs as vacant.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.